Contact Information
 NACo Game


 District Court
 Hon. Mark E. Luoma

 Circuit Court
 Hon. William W. Carmody

 Probate Court
 Hon. Charles C. Nebel

 Friend of the Court
 Prosecuting Attorney

 Board of Commissioners
 Brownfield Authority
 Building Codes            
 County Clerk/Register of Deeds
 County Treasurer            
 Alger Conservation District
 Equalization Department
 Land Bank Authority
 Sheriff’s Department
 Veterans’ Counselor
 Women's Center

Hanley Field
 FF Highway 13
 Wetmore, MI  49895




Alger County Treasurer
101 Court St, Munising, MI 49862

Office Hours: Mon-Fri
  8:00 am - 4:00 pm
 Phone: (906) 387-4535
 Fax:     (906) 387-7047

The Office of the County Treasurer was established by Michigan States Constitution (Article VII, Section 4). The four-year term of office is filled by partisan election. The duties and powers of the County Treasurer are provided by states law and by authorization of the count Board of Commissioners. The two main roles of the treasurer are as the custodian of all county funds and the collector of taxes. Additionally, the treasurer fulfills many other duties.

The county receives money from several sources. The principle source of revenue is an ad valorem property tax. Other income is received from state and federal grants, interest income and various service and license fees. Many of the county's departments collect money in the course of their business. This money is periodically deposited with the treasurer, who is in a sense, the county's banker. Besides revenue items, the treasurer is responsible for large amount of money in various trust and agency funds. These include such classes as circuit court trust, veterans' trust, special drainage districts and county road improvement projects.

The office is responsible for accounting of all revenue coming to the county for investments of idle funds, for the securities and monies held in financial institutions; collection of delinquent property taxes; re-conveyance of property; certification of deeds and plat maps and other documents pertaining to tax histories and litigations; also conducts the annual tax sale on behalf of the State Treasury.

Some also serve as Treasurer and/or member of Building Authorities, Parks and Recreation Commissions, Library Boards, Local Development Companies, Economic Commissions, Planning Boards, Deferred Compensation Boards, Drainage Boards, and appointed Administrative Agents for Tax Administration Funds. The functions of this office are dictated by state statutes, under the guidance of the Bureau of Local Government Service Audit Division and the State Treasury Department.

Make Payments NOW!
24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Go to www.GovPayNow.com
or call 1-888-604-7888

It's easy, all you need:
Your credit card of debit card

Fee Schedule:

1.15% for debit cards and 2.35% for credit cards

Office Staff

Pamela Johnson

Chief Deputy Treasurer
 Darlene Dishong      

Deputy Treasurer
 Janet Morrison

Township Officials
Public Land Auction
Land Bank Authority


Delinquent Taxes, Forfeiture and Foreclosure

2017 Foreclosure Brochure Inside

2017 Foreclosure Brochure Outside


All dogs must be licensed annually on or about January 1st. The fees are $5.00 per year for neutered or spayed dogs (proof of neuter/spay must be provided) and $10.00 per year for non-neutered or non-spayed dogs. A valid rabies certificate must be presented.

Distribution locations are as follows:

Alger County Treasurer’s Office
101 Court Street, Munising, MI 49862

Burt Township Office
Everett Street, Grand Marais, MI 49839

Alger County Animal Shelter
H-58, Munising, MI 49839

Kennel License Fees are $10.00 per year for 1 to 10 dogs and $25.00 per year for over 10 dogs. The Alger County Sheriff’s Department will issue the license upon inspection of the kennel. They can be reached by calling 906-387-4444 to schedule the inspection.

If you have any questions regarding the licensing of your dog, please feel free to contact the Alger County Treasurer’s Office at 906-387-4535.


Alger County is named for Russell A. Alger, a Michigan Governor and US Senator.